Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Coach.

COACH MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER

Refined and ladylike, this darling satchel is crafted in supple, hand-worked leather with a surprisingly spacious interior. A slender strap adds extra functionality, while the latest Madison hardware gives the design an elegant finish. Leather Inside zip, cell phone and multifunction pockets Zip-top closure, fabric lining Outside flap turnlock pocket Handles with 7 1/2" drop Longer strap with 21 3/4" drop for shoulder or crossbody wear 13 3/4" (L) x 7 1/2" (H) x 4 3/4" (W)
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Review 1 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: July 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely!
City: San Diego
State/Province:California
Beautiful purse. I got the LIGHT GOLD/GREY BIRCH and it's really nice. It's a little shiny, but the fabric lining is a gorgeous medium purple shade (which the photos didn't show). I can fit my large Coach wallet, sunglasses case, and makeup bag, but that's about it. Outside pocket is really only good for your phone or something else pretty thin/small. But overall, it's a really pretty purse!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: July 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice and soft
City: forest grove
State/Province:Oregon
received my order today and am so happy! although the gray color isn't so gray, its more of a grayish brown, but will do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: June 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great "Everything" Bag
City: Chicago
State/Province:Illinois
This bag is the ideal bag to carry around to and from work. It also has the versatility to be a bag while going out at night. It may look small, but it is surprisingly spacious. I love the classic look, but it also has some trendy touches to it as well. This bag is a must have classic in my collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: December 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE PERFECT SATCHEL
City: New Jersey
State/Province:New Jersey
I just realized I have not written a review for this favorite purse of mine. I purchased this purse when it first came out and have used it everyday for a month. Got so many compliments on it already. The style is elegant and classy. Has the right amount of structure - not too boxy nor slouchy. The size is perfect for someone who doesn't carry too much, fits my essentials (long wallet, phone, make-up pouch, pencil case, card holder, coin purse). The thing I love most about this purse is that the strap is long enough to be worn on the shoulder, yet short enough for someone who loves carrying it satchel style. I am glad Coach has made it in many different colors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: December 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect shoulder bag
City: Chicago
State/Province:Illinois
I always looking for a nice bag that I can carry on my shoulders. Satchel or cross body bags are not as convenient and practical for my daily use. And this bag is just perfect. Not too small and not too big. The shoulder strap fits perfectly since I’m a petite woman I prefer the strap to be not too long.
I do wish the inside pocket is bigger. The inside zipper pocket won’t fit my long wallet. And the leather material need some improvements. The leather on this bag should be more polished.
I wish this bag could come in polished calfskin material. I would buy again if that happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: December 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coach Does It Again...
City: Maplewood
State/Province:New Jersey
I rec'd this bag last week and carried it to work for the first time.
One of my co-workers literally wanted to take it home with her.
She is a petite woman and likes smaller bags , she was in awe of this bag.
She complimented on how it was compact yet large enough to carry your every day essentials. I commute to work and I get questioned about this bag often.
It's Coach, you cannot go wrong!!!
I can see getting this style perhaps in another color.
This is part of my second Coach order in a month.
Coach rocks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: November 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size satchel for me...
City: Las Vegas
State/Province:Nevada
(I originally bought the Small Madison Phoebe, but that purse was much too large for me.) Honestly, I didn't really like the looks of this Madeline Satchel in the online photos. But once I saw it in person, I had to have it. The online pictures don't do it any justice. I bought the Camel color. It's a nice neutral color that can be worn year-round. This leather smells like high quality leather. The short handles can be carried on the crook of my arm, & it even fits on my shoulder that way. The size is perfect for my petite frame. For me, it's a medium size purse. I'm very happy with my Madeline Satchel. Also, I love the hot pink satin lining. If you love satchels, this one is a must have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: November 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect black bag
City: Queens
State/Province:New York
I was looking for the perfect black bag that will not clash with the prints in my closet. I saw this bag and look at it several times and fell in love with it. The black bag will be a Christmas gift from my mom. I have quite a collection of coach bags and I am always impress with the leather, variety of the styles, and most importantly with the functionality of the bags compared to other designers’ bags.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: October 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Arm Candy!
City: Palm Bay
State/Province:Florida
I was looking for a black handbag with silver hardware, not too big, not too small and something that I could carry on my arm, in my hands, or on my shoulder, or even crossbody if I wanted to. It also had to have some style and look classy! Tada ~ this small Madison satchel in black leather was perfect. The leather is beautiful, especially after a light swipe with the Coach moisturizer, it has a beautiful sheen. The inside is awesome, large enough to accommodate a wallet, makeup bag and of course, a smart phone. The satin lining is beautiful and it also has a functional outside pocket. It has the typical Coach zippers which at times you really have to tug to zip it across the handbag, but as long as you hold on to the leather tab at either end while you close it with the other, it closes a lot smoother. The shoulder strap is comfortable, no issues. The handbag handles have a nice drop; fits nicely under the arm. It's a classy and functional bag that will serve me for more than just a few seasons. Timeless ~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: October 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this bag
City: Seattle
State/Province:Washington
This bag is the perfect size for daily use. It's small enough to be lightweight, but is deceptively roomy. It easily fits a nice sized wallet, along with another comparably sized item. One of my favorite aspects of Coach bags is the satin interior in a contrasting color. I chose this bag in black, which has a lovely blue interior. I'm strongly considering the orange one for fall as well. The orange in person is spectacular.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: October 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the small Madeline!
City: Atlanta
State/Province:Georgia
This puse is perfect! Iw as wanting to downsize and it's great. I would own it in every color except not a huge fan of the gold hardware on any purse but love the black/silver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: October 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag!
City: Denver
State/Province:Colorado
I bought this bag a few weeks ago and I am very pleased with its performance. The style is deceptive in that it appears small but it holds quite a few things. On the whole, I think it is a great everyday bag, but it's also dressy enough for an evening out. Also, it is heavier than what you might expect, which I like as I feel that it will hold up for years to come.
Also, thank you Coach for making bags with a limited logo presence. (and without the tassels). I think the simpler designs are more sophisticated and will age well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: October 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag and outstanding color!
City: Fort Wayne
State/Province:Indiana
I love this bag and it garners compliments every time I use it. I am a small bag person so I love the size. However, if you carry a lot of stuff you should opt for the larger sized bag. My only complaint is the inside zip pocket is a little small for what I need to carry in it but other than that I just LOVE this bag. Oh I bought the Berry color. It is just fabulous in person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: September 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovin' Coach!
City: Fergus
State/Province:Ontario
Purchased this small Madison after many envious months of looking at my sister's gorgeous purse in almost the same colour. Was looking for months for a purse that would "speak to me" and found it in this one while shopping with my sister. I'd asked if she would be offended if I purchased the purse in almost the identical colour to the one she had; she said not at all and whipped out the payment! LOVE this purse - great size, fab colour, portable and convertible from an over-the-shoulder number to a carry-style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: September 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Purse
City: Des Moines
State/Province:Iowa
Love this bag. Love the style. Love the color. My only problem with the bag is the turn buckle on the outside of the purse would not stay closed. I returned my first bag and got a replacement. No problems with the replacement bag. I get a lot of compliments when I carry this purse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: September 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice handbag, but...
City: Montgomery
State/Province:Alabama
I bought the bag several weeks ago and decided to return it....just too small even for me...I don't carry a lot of items and found that it was just not right for me...great leather, very well made, I wouldn't expect less from Coach...also the handles and strap were way to thin, should have been a little wider so they won't dig into your skin....this was my third bag this year, returned and ordered another beautiful bag from Coach!...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: September 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Beautiful Bag!
City: Orlando
State/Province:Florida
I fell in love with this bag as soon as it was released here on the website. I still wanted to see it in person before purchasing to better understand the closing mechanism. For anyone who is curious, the bag has the framework of a kisslock bag on the inside (sans kisslock, of course), This bag is the perfect size and the craftsmanship is phenomenal! There is not a stitch out of place with her and the leather is very durable. I purchased mine in that gorgeous Cranberry color which is sure to sell out! I also want to point out that the crossbody strap really is the perfect length to use as a crossbody! I know that statement sounds ridiculous but I've had Coach bags before that came with a crossbody strap that was not long enough to be worn as such.
Shout out to the lovely ladies at the Sanford, FL location!! You guys are wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for MADISON SMALL MADELINE EAST/WEST SATCHEL IN LEATHER
Date: July 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful bag!!
City: Carmel
State/Province:Indiana
I spent a few weeks trying to decide what bag I was going to buy and I finally chose the Madison Small Madeline East/West Satchel in leather. I just received it today and overall, I am completely thrilled! The craftsmanship is, as always, beautiful and the leather is absolutely lovely. It is such a classy, lovely satchel and I cannot wait to start carrying it!
I do want to point out a few things that I wasn't exactly expecting, however.
Color: I chose the Li/Vermillion as I thought it would be a great end-of-summer/fall color. On my monitor, it appeared to be a lovely orange color. However, when I received the purse it is clear that it is much more red than it is orange. It is still BEAUTIFUL and I am definitely going to keep it, but I just wanted to point out the color for those who are looking to purchase this bag. If you look at the Madison Small Madeline East/West Satchel in PATENT LEATHER in the Li/Vermillion color, it is much more accurate as to what the "Li/Vermillion" color is, so that a look at that bag to see a more true color depiction if you are REALLY wanting an orange bag.
Size: I am not someone who carries a TON of stuff in her purse, so the size is perfect for me. I do think it's helpful, however, to comment on the opening of the purse. When you open the main compartment, the zippers only go down about 1/2 of the way on the sides of the purse and the zipper is set in such a way that there isn't a huge, wide opening. There is plenty of room inside, it just opens a little differently than other purses. To get a good idea, take a look at The Madison Madeline East/West Satchel in Leather (it's the larger version of this bag).
Again, I can't say enough GOOD things about this lovely purse!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.