Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Coach.

COACH LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS

Reimagined for the Legacy Collection, the latest version of our iconic Willis bag is assembled by hand in smooth, artisanal leather. It pairs the modern look of soft, rounded corners with heritage details like the original dowel and a classic turnlock. Leather Inside zip and multifunction pockets Turnlock closure, fabric lining Handle with 5" drop Longer strap for shoulder or crossbody wear 10" (L) x 9 3/4" (H) x 3 1/2" (W)
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
11 out of 20(55%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Review 1 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: June 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE!!!!!
City: Toronto
State/Province:Ontario
I have been looking for a great every day purse for a while now and went into a Coach store saw the Willis and fell in love. So much so that after buying my first Willis I bought a second one three weeks later! This amazing purse can hold a lot and looks very stylish. I don't wear it as a cossbody but when I do it doesn't feel too short like other reviews state. Long story short this is one purse that I will be using for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: June 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my Willis!
City: New York to the Catskills.
State/Province:New York
I am a loyal Coach client. I needed a light bag for every day. This has all the classic Coach style and elegance. Although richly detailed with versatile inner and outer pockets, my shoulder does not get sore like I use to get from heavier bags. The leather takes all the bumping of a trip to Manhattan, or a hike in the Catskills without a scratch. If I lower the buckle, it becomes a satchel that doesn't swing all over. This bag does it all, and makes me look prepared for whatever the day brings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: April 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Love the old "new" Willis
City: Phoenix
State/Province:Arizona
I purchased 3 of the old "new" Willis bag, that's how much I loved it. First Coach handbag that I loved. Did I mention I love the Willis old "new" bag. Saw what folks were writing about the current Willis as I was hoping to add to my collection. I went to the store and the comments I read about the strap length changing and the interior of the bag changing made this a bag that I was no longer interested in purchasing. I'm disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: April 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional and stylish, but...
City: Silicon Valley, CA
State/Province:California
I LOVE how functional and stylish this bag is and was pleasantly surprise by how much stuff I can throw in there. Great style, love all the pockets inside and outside, love the stripe interior. I got one in tan, which is not a practical choice if you carry this bag everyday. It is a light tan brand new out of the box, then within two months or so, turned into more like a deep dark beige. I love everything about this Willis bag but two things: 1) the leather is rather thin compared to previous Coach leather bags I own, which makes the bag nick easily; and 2) the turn lock tends to go sideways on its own so the flap comes undone, I often walk around with my bag open without even knowing it. The other day while taking a stroll window shopping, I saw a woman walking the opposite direction with the same Willis (different color) and her bag's flap was open too which lead me to believe it's not a 'defect' with my bag but a design issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: April 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No other styles as wonderful as theirs!
City: Staten Island
State/Province:New York
I have two of these plus two Willis City bags in addition to two small Willis bags. I love them all. Each one fits my needs in its own way.
I've been a loyal Coach customer since the mid 1970s.
The leather is soft and light. Not at all heavy like that other brand ( D&B ).
Need I say more?
Yes, I must.
I own over 50 Coach bags, wallets, coin purses and shoes.
As a matter of fact, I've lost count!
Thanks for consistently putting out wonderful products!
I may buy their stock next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: April 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome
City: Casselberry
State/Province:Florida
this bag is perfect, beautiful leather, well made, love the crossbody design and strap, it is more than long enough to sit right where it's supposed to for easy access.
I LOVE the new design, so much prettier than the old willis, I seriously love this design. I got mine in black, and it's the perfect size and it fits everything with room to spare. Very lightweight, also.
I was super happy to find this bag. Nothing negative to say! I want it in every color!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: March 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this handbag!!!!
City: Rossford
State/Province:Ohio
I just received my bag today and I love it!!!! This is my 6th Coach bag and I am in love with them and the brand is just awesome!!! I got the hot pink and I usually get the Cs but I decided to get a totally different look and style and I love it!! The bag is bigger then I thought it would inside and the lining is awesome!!! I can fit everything that I normally do in it and if you want a very cute and roomy handbag, then get this one!! I refuse to use any other brand and I am totally addicted to Coach goodies!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: March 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice handbag...
City: Montgomery
State/Province:Alabama
I bought this bag and the color and style is so wonderful....the short strap, well it's too short for any adult women...It went back and I found one that was a little larger and longer strap....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: March 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just OK
City: Seattle
State/Province:Washington
I got this bag as a gift, but unfortunately I am going to return it. The color and leather are beautiful, but it is a bit too small for the things I carry on a day to day basis. Also, as other reviewers have noted the strap is too short to truly be a cross body. I'm 5'3" and it doesn't hang comfortably. Bummer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit
City: Central New Jersey
State/Province:New Jersey
I purchased three Coach bags in my search for my new spring bag. The Willis is the only on that I kept. I am 5'2", the long strap is a "perfect" fit. The bag sits on my hip and my hand goes straight inside to grab my wallet. The turn lock is easy entrance and close. The color that I selected was bright coral, I love the pop of color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE IT
City: Nowwhereland
State/Province:Ontario
I don't know why everyone is saying how terrible this bag is....it really isn't. I originally wanted the Leather New Willis ever since I saw it-but they've seemed to have gotten rid of it. When I read the reviews I was sceptical and mad that I didn't get the older style in time. When I saw THIS one in the store I was like "This isn't as bad as the reviews say" yes, there are changes with the handle, strap, and inside fabric (this one has a plain fabric, the older Willis had the legacy stripes fabric) But honestly, I love it. It truly is one of the best Coach bags BY FAR! It's classy, yet fun, practical, yet very unique. This is my favourite purse I have ever bought, and I can't wait to show it off. It is exactly MY style. See it in person before buying it because I read the reviews and thought I had my mind made up about this new Willis.....but really, I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE the new Willis
City: Tustin
State/Province:California
I own two of the new Willis style. A small pink color block and a medium sand Willis. The detail on the purse is beautiful, the turnlock closes securely, inside compartments and zipper section keep things organized. I wear them on dress down days. My sand Willis also goes well with my cowgirl boots and Western style clothes. The crossbody strap is great for hands free shopping. I like to take my small pink colorblock Willis to concerts with the crossbody strap so I don't have to worry about carrying a purse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
positive feedback on purse
City: West Palm Beach
State/Province:Florida
I'm discouraged after reading negative comments about the willis bag. I enjoy the one I purchased and it's a good quality- leather bag.
Thanks Coach,
Jen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please go back to "New" Willis!
City: Middle of Nowhere
State/Province:North Dakota
I own 3 of the new Willis style and would love to get a Legacy but I don't want to purchase something I'm afraid I won't be happy with. I love the straps on the old "New" Willis. If the straps are two short I won't be able to use it. The changes made to the Legacy Willis are stopping me from buying any more Willis… And I LOVE this bag. Please please change it back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please bring back the other Willis
City: Seattle
As someone who owns two vintage Willis bags, and three new Poppy Willis bags, I am really sad to see the changes on the new Legacy Willis. The long strap is now shorter and not as comfortable cross body. I also don't like the extra loops of leather in the dowel area. The clean, simple clip and strap and all previous styles was much better. I like the new color combos and I like Legacy leather, but please bring back the old design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
City: Boston
State/Province:Massachusetts
A month ago I purchased the Willis bag in sand. I own the Willis in the logo print so I didn't try the leather Willis on in the store. When I tried it on at home with my coat on the strap was so short it didn't even reach my waist and I'm only 5' 6"! I measured the strap and it was almost 7" shorter than the older Willis. When I checked the reviews on this site there were no new comments so I thought it was a fluke. As much as I loved the bag I returned it. After checking the latest reviews I see it was no fluke. Call me another dissappointed customer. Why the changes? It is no improvement and the quality is lacking. So much for cost cutting. You should leave well enough alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing
City: Orlando
Much as the other reviews have already stated, this "update" is a huge disappointment. I love the "new willis" style, and own several of them, and the "legacy willis" bag has too many differences for me. The fun, eye-catching Legacy striped lining is gone, to be replaced with a boring cream color that is sure to show all imperfections and marks. The clasps on the longer strap have changed, for the worse, as has the length of the strap (now it's too short), and the shorter handle does not lay well when using the longer strap. BRING BACK THE "NEW WILLIS"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why Mess with a Good Thing?
City: Tornado Alley
I love, love, love the old style Willis (own 6 of them to be honest). When I tried on the new Legacy Willis, I was DEVASTATED to see that they shortened the crossbody strap by about 3 inches so she is now way too short on me, and I'm only 5'7". Not sure why that was changed but until Coach make the strap longer again, I won't be able to buy anymore of my beloved Willis bags! You made the Penny straps longer, thank you, so please, please fix these ones too!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't like the changes.
City: Temecula
State/Province:California
Go back to the old "new" Willis! I hate the changes to the short strap -- too bulky. I hate the changes to the long strap -- too short! And I hate the I hate the change of the hooks -- I like the classic lobster claw hooks, not dog leash clips. I hate the new lining -- love Legacy stripe lining. And the "smooth leather" feels like plastic to me (even though I have other Legacy bags that don't feel this way.) Please, please, bring back the old "new" Willis! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LEGACY LEATHER WILLIS
Date: February 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I tried..
City: Portland, Maine USA
State/Province:Maine
This is not the Willis that I (and many hardcore Poppy-style New Willis fans) came to love..
#1: The long cross-body strap on this one is much too short to make it work. I want it on my hip, not my waist.
#2: The top handle has a weird design that is just too bulky to lay flat against the bag when using the longer strap.
#3: Last but not least, there are no Legacy stripes inside, just plain cream colored fabric.
I could settle for the less exciting lining, if only the rest of the bag was as functional as the "old" New Willis. But with both straps being re-designed, it's just not gonna work. Its too bad, because it's still got some of the cute Willis charm in the overall shape of the bag, but it's just not the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.